To my dear son,

I hope you grow strong in body and mind;

shielded from all vice and sin.

There’re many who love you, your mother most;

your uncles, aunts, folk and kin.

I’m sorry for the days I’ll spend away,

but I’ll be there for you dear, so long

as my legs can take me wherever you are

So long as this heart beats on and on…

Maybe, one day you’ll understand

why things turn out the way they do.

When I’m not there, your mama is;

her love and smiles will see you through.

So be not sad, lift your head up high.

Your lineage, both ways is firm and grand!

Your ancestors with you will always be;

wherever it is you fly or land.

Take heed O’ beautiful, handsome one

from those with wisdom and etiquette.

Follow good people and guaranteed,

Peace, love and gifts you’ll get.

I’d say much more but there’re many eyes;

one day when you’re older I’ll tell you all.

If you ever need me, I’m there for you –

to catch you always – if you should fall.

Father-Silhouette-14

This entry was posted in Africa.

Leave a Reply

