The beat of love

This heart that has been

beating since I lay in

my mother’s womb.

This heart that is so hard

to break…

This heart that keeps on beating;

thud after thud,

gush after gush.

This heart that feeds

my flesh, bones and mind.

This heart:

the reason why I

write this.

This heart:

a mortal heart.

I place my palm on

my chest

to feel

its power.

It beats –

musically.

The beat

always with me

when I go to sleep,

always with me

in my dreams,

always with me

when the sun’s morning rays shine on my eyelids

reminding me that

I am alive.

Life awaits our beat…

every morning.

Thud away dear heart;

take me through my journey.

This heart that shall

one day

cease to beat.

This heart that I was gifted with.

This heart that thuds with might.

This heart that shall

one day

quit.

I place my palm on my chest

and listen to the drum beat;

The beat of mortality,

The beat of love.

Thud away dear heart,

thud away.

giphy

This entry was posted in Africa.

Leave a Reply

