Therapy

I have lied to myself for

long enough.

I thought I needed you.

 

There’s a good side to you

and a bad one too.

The latter outweighs the former,

but I did not see that.

I lied to myself.

In error I thought,

In error I was.

 

I loved to breath you in.

I loved to breath you out.

You were the drug I couldn’t

live without.

 

There’s an inspirational side to you

And a disastrous one too

The latter outweighs the former

But I did not see that.

I lied to myself.

In error I thought,

In error I was.

 

I won’t beg you to leave me.

I will muster up

some courage

and do it myself.

I shall leave you…

That’s what I want to do.

 

You took me to dungeons

I do not want

to visit…

ever again.

 

You’ve caused me pain.

That’s why I’m writing this.

 

I won’t give you

power.

I won’t ask you

to leave me.

I will muster up

some courage

and do it myself.

 

You’re the drug

I couldn’t live without,

and I know

without a single shade of doubt,

you,

are not good for me.

 

Take back the honey I licked from you.

I do not need it.

I will look

for some other honeycomb.

One that will not take me

to those

dungeons you led me to.

 

I won’t ask you not to come

knocking

at my door

because

I’ll muster the courage

to not look for you…

because

I’ve finally realised…

You never needed me, but

I

am the one

who craved for you.

 

I learnt from the best.

I learnt from you.

The treatment you gave me

I’ll give you too.

I won’t crave for you,

You won’t crave for me…

So farewell.

I hope this is

the last

you’ll hear from me.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Africa.

Leave a Reply

