Innocent Blood

I’m a passerby in a shoot out,

a Helmandian under fire,

a commuter at a bomb scene,

a saint in the noose.

I am innocent blood.

Why d’you want to shed me and behead me?

Freeze…

and take back the bullet you fed me.

I’m an orphan on the sidewalk,

an old man in a stampede,

a daughter on the pavement,

a son in the streets.

I am innocent blood.

Why d’you want to shed me and behead me?

Freeze…

and take back the bullet you fed me.

I’m a pensionless pensioner,

an activist with no rights,

a pauper with dependents

I’m tomorrow without a future.

I am innocent blood.

Why d’you want to shed me and behead me?

Freeze…

and take back the bullet you fed me.

I’m a story without a teller,

a mind without a means,

a being without a life…

I’m blood stains on your hands.

I am innocent blood.

Why did you shed me and behead me?

Its too late…

to take back the bullet you fed me.

Image

This entry was posted in Lessons.

Leave a Reply

