The Yin and the Yang

Every night when I drop into bed

 

I think about the practicality

 

and the possibility

 

of uniting the binaries;

 

so that I can –

 

one day –

 

sleep with peace of mind.

 

 

 

Can we really?…

 

Unite

 

The rich and the poor,

 

The oppressor and oppressed,

 

The coloured and not,

 

The left and the right?

 

 

 

It’s not that easy to

 

Unite

 

The Jew and the Muslim,

 

The wild and the prudent,

 

the Tamils and their neighbours,

 

The old skool and the new.

 

 

 

Can one convince

 

The defensive to drop their shields

 

and

 

The attackers their spears?

 

Can the Bible thumper and the Hafiz

 

sit down to a cup-a-tea?

 

Can Shankill Road be a haven

 

for those of Falls?

 

Cant the KKK and the Panthers

 

make amends?

 

 

 

Unite

 

The blondes and the brunettes,

 

The Boers and the Xhosa,

 

The Brahmin and the tramps,

 

The master and the servant.

 

 

 

I went to sleep today

 

and tried to reconcile the binaries:

 

My head and my pillow,

 

My love and my hate,

 

My heart and my mind,

 

My hope and my state.

 

Image

Leave a Reply

